Lay Leaders

Lay Leadership




Council Chair                                        Carolyn Huskins (3)

Vice-Chair / Apprentice             Buddy Smith (3)


Lay Leader                                             Buddy Smith (2)


Recording Secretary                             Charlotte Messer (3)


Finance Chair                                         Linda Carpenter (2)


Staff-Parish Chair                                 Joanna Carangelo (1)


Trustee Chair                                         Jeff Ballard (2)


CommonGround Community Min        Sean Bloom (2) p


Children’s Council Chair                       Alice Ballard (2)


Senior Adult Ministries                        Rita & Bill Kohler (1)


UM Men’s President                            Johnny Norton (3)


UM Women’s President                       Betty Jacobsen (3+)


Youth Representative                           Madison Tyson (3)


Scouting Liaisons                                 David Barger (Boy & Cub Scout)

                                                               Tommie Mullen (2)  (Girl Scouts)


Mt Pleasant Liaison                              Mother Betty Luckey (1)


UNITED Board Rep                              Terry Moore (1)


Lay Delegate to Annual Conf.             Karen Smith

Alternate                          Joanna Carangelo

Stacey Messer  (Lay Delegate 2019)




2017  Tommy Bumgarner, Archie Huskins, Jeanne Young

2018  Jeff Moore, David McGuire, Pat Mudd, Jeff Ballard

2019  Matt Butler, Mitch Johnson, Donny Hough

 At Large: Laura McGuire (Parsonage), Martha Eudy (Kitchen), Mark Hovis (Facility-Use)


Prayer Trail Subcommittee:

 Mitch Johnson, Sonja Johnson, Larry Mull


Parsonage Subcommittee:

Chair: Laura McGuire (2)

Bob Cloninger, Freda Burch, Jeff Ballard (Trustee Chair),

Ruth Coleman, Gracie Lewis, David McGuire

Ex-Officio:  Karen Sweezy


          Kitchen SubcommitteeChair Martha Eudy (3)

Glenda Bumgarner, Mandy Bloom, Tim Messer, Downy Ensley, Martha Eudy,

Pat Ramey


          Facility-Use SubcommitteeChair Mark Hovis (3)

Mark Hovis (3), William Taylor (Mt. Pleasant Rep– 4), Sean Bloom (3)

Hospitality Volunteer Coord – Glenda Bumgarner (3), Vernon Fisher (1),

Todd Burton (1), Stevi Wike (1)




2017  Buddy Smith, Glenda Bumgarner, Brian Medici

2018   Chris Smith, Tommy Bumgarner

2019  Sonja Johnson, Valerie Moore, Diane Overman,    Joanna Carangelo (chair)


Ex-Officio: Buddy Smith (Lay Leader without vote), Noel Sweezy (pastor), Karen Smith (delegate to AC)



2017  Tana Ensley, Terry Moore,

2018  Linda Carpenter (Chair),

2019  Jon Miller, Claude Lutz, Pat Abernathy, Bill Mason


Ex-Officio: Carolyn Huskins (council chair), Jeff Ballard (trustee chair), Buddy Smith (lay leader), Tabitha Owens (Church Treasurer), Bob Cloninger (Assistant Treasurer), Joanna Carangelo (SPRC chair), Karen Smith  (annual conference delegate), Noel Sweezy (Pastor)


Children’s Ministry Council: 

          Chairperson                                                    Alice Ballard

          Sunday School                                                Stacey Messer

          Children’s Church                                          Kim Smith & Mandy Bloom

& Macrae Walters

CommonGround Worship                              Jennifer Medici, Stevi Wike

          Kids Konnect                                                  Becky Beatty & Charlotte Messer

          Children’s Arts                                               Becky Beatty

          Nursery                                                           Karen Smith

          Safe Sanctuary                                      Johnny Norton & Cindy Burton & Valerie Moore


Safe Sanctuary Committee:  Johnny Norton (Chair), Cindy Burton & Valerie Moore (CPR Training), Dewey Dellinger (SPRC), Carolyn Huskins (Council), Noel Sweezy (Pastor), Alice Ballard (Children’s Coord.), Sherry Moore (Youth Coord), Stacey Messer (Sun Sch Coord)


CommonGround Community Ministries Team:  David Thrams, Glenda Bumgarner,  George Eubanks, Sean Bloom (Council Rep), Mecedes Tucker (Hispanic Rep.), Francis Marshall (Mt. Pleasant Rep), Joanna Carangelo (CommonGround Worship Rep), Carolyn Huskins (Council Chair)

Non-Voting:  Noel Sweezy (Pastor)



2017  Karen Sweezy, Tammey Thomas

2018  Martha Eudy, Joanna Schultz, Sharon Cantrell (chair)

2019  Jean Winchester, Wendy Davis, Charlotte Messer

          Beverly Fisher, Stacey Messer, Melissa Wagner



Main St.                                               CommonGround Worship

2017 Charlotte Messer                                  Gracie Lewis

Tana Ensley

Jeff Tyson

2018  Sherry Moore,                                      Sherman Norton

2019  Macrae Walters (co-Chair)                                         (co-Chair)

          JoAn Morris                                        Janet Reid

          Jan Stewart                                          Joshua & Jeanna Panter


Communion Steward – Phyllis Burton (Main St.) / Laura & Dan Deangelo

       Acolyte Coord. – Karen Smith

                     Audio/Visual Coordinator – Buddy Smith    Lay Leader – Buddy Smith

Music Minister – Becky Beatty

CommonGround Worship Leader – Lou Price


Committee on Lay Leadership (Nominations): Noel Sweezy (chair)

2017  Jeff Tyson, Buddy Smith, Diane Overman

2018  Joanna Carangelo, Donny Hough

2019  Leslie Mauney, Jeff Moore, Sonja Johnson, Joan Morris